The agenda outlined in the official program of A. PH. A. was carried through and the papers were directed to be turned over to A. PH. A. for publication.

At the close of the program there was a very animated discussion regarding the organization of a professional pharmacists' group within the A. PH. A. A great deal of enthusiasm was shown and it was very evident that there was a pronounced desire upon the part of the professional pharmacists to perfect an organization within the A. PH. A. A motion was made and carried that the chairman appoint a committee to study the question for a year and report it at another Conference to be held at the next annual meeting of the A. PH. A. C. B. Jordan was elected *Chairman* and B. V. Christensen was elected *Secretary* for the ensuing year.

## NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON PHARMACEUTICAL RESEARCH

## ABSTRACT OF THE PROCEEDINGS.

The 18th annual meeting held in the Biltmore Hotel, Atlanta, Ga., August 22, 1939.

## FIRST SESSION, 2:00 P.M.

Meeting called to order by the Chairman, W. J. Husa.

- 2:01 P.M. Appointment of Nominating Committee. F. O. Taylor, Chairman, William Gray and W. E. Williams.
- 2:03 P.M. Reports of Officers.

SYMPOSIUM ON TRAINING OF RESEARCH MEN IN PHARMACY.

- 2:15 P.M. "Training of Research Men in Universities," by Dr. Glenn L. Jenkins.
- 2:30 P.M. "The Florida Plan of Research Training," by Dr. William J. Husa.
- 2:45 P.M. "Types of Research Training Desired by Research Institutions," by Dr. George D. Beal.
- 3:00 P.M. "Types of Research Training Desired by Pharmaceutical Manufacturers," by Dr. F. O. Taylor.
- 3:15 P.M. General Discussion of Training of Research Men in Pharmacy.
- 3:45 P.M. Address. "Some Recent Advances in Chemotherapy" by Dr. Randolph Major. Merck & Co.
- 4:30 P.M. Discussion of Address.
- 4:45 P.M. Roll Call of Delegates.
- 4:50 P.M Election and Installation of Officers.
  - (a) Chairman, William J. Husa.
  - (b) Vice-Chairman, Heber W. Youngken.
  - (c) Secretary, John C. Krantz, Jr.
  - (d) Treasurer, Fitzgerald Dunning.
  - (e) Executive Committee, G. D. Beal, J. C. Munch and F. E. Bibbins.

5:00 р.м. Adjournment.